THE PATH TO SUPPRESSOR OWNERSHIP
CAN I OWN A SUPPRESSOR?
Private citizens can legally purchase and possess suppressors in 42 states* without a permit.
The eight states that currently do not allow individuals to own suppressors are California, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, New York, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and the District of Columbia.
*If you are an FFL dealer, manufacturer, peace officer, or member of a law enforcement agency or other government agency, there are additional states where you can own a suppressor.
HOW TO BUY A SUPPRESSOR
While suppressors are legal, they are regulated by federal law and on a state-by-state basis by the National Firearm Act (NFA) branch of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (BATFE).
To legally purchase or possess a suppressor you must:
Reside in one of the 42 states that currently allow civilian ownership.
Be a resident of the United States.
Be legally eligible to purchase a firearm.
Pass a BATFE background check.
Pay a one time $200 Transfer Tax.
Be at least 21 years of age to purchase from a dealer.
To get started on the path to owning your AB Suppressor, email our sales team or contact us directly at 913.829.3400 and we will assist in finding a dealer near you.